why do people go to the doctor for a cold?

I’m a practicing physician and have been one for years, and I take the time to try and educate my patients, and to listen so I can hear what they’re really asking with their questions, but the one thing that has eluded me all these years is why people repeatedly come in on day one or two or three of a standard upper respiratory infection (ie cold) and say to me, “I’ve just come down with a cold, and I came in because I want to nip it in the bud” (or butt, depending on the patient). I can understand coming in for prolonged symptoms, or concerns about whether it’s bronchitis, influenza, pneumonia, strep throat, ear infection, etc. But why on earth do so many people who know it’s a cold that they have expect me to be able to cure their colds? Some get quite angry when I refuse to give them antibiotics, some want narcotic cough syrups, but most just expect me to whip something out that will fix their infection. And many of these are otherwise intelligent-seeming people who have heard my cold “talk” before. I hear the same thing from my colleagues, so it doesn’t seem to be my bedside manner.

Any thoughts from the teeming millions?

Most people know that a cold will cure itself in a week, but if you go to a doctor it will only last seven days.

A guy with a real Type A personality hacked his way into his doctor’s office and demanded a cure. The doctor mentioned several over-the-counter products the man could take to relieve his symptoms, but pointed out that there was no way he could treat the cold.

The patient continued to insist on treatment, escalating from insistence, through demanding, to an outright temper tantrum.

Finally, the doctor gave in: “I want you to go home, put on your running shorts and a tank top, get in the shower for three minutes, then, without drying off, run down to the park in this 20° weather for half an hour, and walk home.”

Astonished, the man asked. “That will cure my cold?”