Why do police use a paddy wagon ?

I’ve seen a lot of paddy wagons on the street tonight. I doubt they’re transporting prisoners on a Sunday night. There aren’t any major events I can think of where the police might expect to make multiple arrests.

It is a 3 day weekend, perhaps the police are running a DUI sting and anticipate multiple arrests?

Maybe one of them was going to pick up someone who has a history of kicking out police car windows.

yeah we are in the middle of silly season here (Australia) and they use every available car on the beat. probably that I reckon…

Because they’re racists!

They use police vans on a Sunday night with a Monday holiday because they expect a large amount of drunken and disorderly folk.

Because the screen test is more effective than in a sedan. :wink:

Your kidding? Your location says Chicago. You really don’t believe there are multiple arrests on a Sunday in a city that big? I’ve been a cop for over 30 years for two different agencies in Milwaukee County. Population wise it’s a mere pittance to Chicago and tons of arrest are made on Sunday nights.

The transport van (AKA “Paddy Wagon”. Nobody around here uses that term, but YMMV) is used to pick up multiple subjects from different areas. A team (2 officers) are assigned to the van and drive around to other officers locations and pick up arrested subjects. Up to 8 can be secured in the van and stay there until the van is full or 2 hours has past. This allows street cops to stay on the street while the van crew transports to the city lock up or county jail for booking. The arresting officer does not have to go there to process an arrested subject. So you see, all 8 subjects usually won’t be from the same arrest site. That probably answers a lot of your question.