Why do programmers make complex programs for free?

I studied Python and PHP, and I can imagine how diffcult it might be to code an complex program. Let’s take free video players as an example. I am sure there are thousands lines of codes written to create these software. But why would a skilled programmer write thousands lines of codes (investing a lot of time) and distribute his software for free?

• It’s a fun hobby
  • We want to build something for ourselves, but once built there’s no reason not to share it
  • It keeps our skills up
  • It’s good advertising for future employers
  • You can sometimes make money off technical support, customization, or “premium” editions
  • It feels good to share with other people
  • It also feels good to earn the admiration and respect of others

I got my current job (14+ years) because of a free utility I wrote and gave away.

Programmers love to code. At least I did from my very first class. I used to sit in the CS lab 12 to 14 hours straight without eating just coding projects. It was the ultimate puzzle and challenge.

Even after getting hired I was at the office coding on weekends for fun. It took several years before the thrill began to turn into drudgery. It’s just a 5 day a week job for me now. After 20 plus years I’m just not as into it anymore.

Also:

Distributing the program for free doesn’t mean the programmer isn’t getting paid. I know many developers who write code for their employers or clients, that is then distributed as free open source software.

Most successful open source projects have more than one contributing developer. By working together they can make something bigger than they could alone. And by making it open source, they avoid the overhead of a startup and don’t risk losing control.

Well for your example, video players,
there’s already a myriad of them free ,or bundled.
Windows Media Player
Winamp
RealPlayer
VLCPlayer

And then there all the DVD player software that get bundled,