Why does my USB cable vibrate!?

For the sake of putting something in the body of the message I’ll ask again - Why does my USB cable vibrate!?

p.s. It makes my digital camera vibrate too when I plug it in.

Good question. Without seeing your whole setup, I dunno. Do you have an unusually strong fan in your computer or something?

None of my other wires vibrate, My fans are loud and crap.

I don’t think it’s transfered vibration (from the comp) because it vibrates at the other end of the wire (away from the comp) and as I say none of the other wires vibrate.

I’ll describe my setup in detail if you want. I thought it would be some USB thing. I have never used USB things before.
P.S. It’s not an obvious vibration, it’s not as if the wire is jumping about, It’s just something I can detect when I hold the wire.

Vibrating cables… Errr. Hmmm. rummages through brain, comes up with alternative theory

I am assuming that your USB devices draw power from the computer when they are plugged in? Maybe your power supply is flaky, and when it’s trying to supply that little bit extra, it causes a noticable vibration? Do you notice the vibration anywhere else on the computer when this happens? If so, is the whole case vibrating or just a localized area? Where is the USB port located?

(This is a question that I’m interesting in seeing what the heck it turns out to be… but I get the feeling that most of us will be pulling answers out of our arse.) :wink:

<< Voom! >>

Ahh, didn’t see your post lobley before I posted my response.

Huh. Well, then I’m stumped. No other wires are doing it, only USB devices are affected… I’ll poke my techie friends, and see if any of them know what may be up.

<< COFFEE.EXE Not found. Insert cup and hit any key to contiune… >>