Why doesn't radio fade out?

As you drive away from your favorite radio station’s transmitter, wouldn’t one expect the volume to slowly fade? Instead, the signal remains apparently unchanged until it suddenly is out of range. But, how is this possible? Why don’t I have to keep bumping up the volume as I move away from the transmitter?

FYI: IIRC, as distance doubles, the dB drops by 6 dB. So, what gives?

• Jinx

I am not a radio engineer, but I believe it has something to do with the fact that your radio receiver has an amplifier built into it, and only gets its information signal from the radio waves, not its power.

If you’re talking about AM, modern AM radios have AGC (automatic gain control) circuits that boost the amplitude of weak signals. Without an AGC circuit, the volume decreases as the signal becomes weaker.

And, FM?

FM is fundamentally different than AM. The FM signal is amplified and clipped to a uniform amplitude level (limiter circuit) before it is fed into the discriminator, which produces the audio. The output level from the discriminator is dependent on the modulation level of the signal, not its amplitude. An FM carrier is modulated by varying the frequency or phase of the carrier wave.

See http://www.ycars.org/EFRA/Module%20B/fmrecvr.htm for a block diagram of an FM receiver.

AM (amplitude modulation) radio uses variations in the amplitude (the height of the wave) in order to transmit information. The amplitude of the wave falls as you get further away from the source, so you need some kind of amplifier to keep the volume at a constant level.

FM (frequency modulation) radio varies the frequency (the time/distance between successive peaks in the wave) to transmit information. The frequency characteristics of a signal do not shift as you get further from the source, like the amplitude does. At least, not nearly as much.