Why has college gotten so damn expensive?

Do you think it is because increased aid has led to a moral hazard with colleges driving up the price? Do you think it’s because of the government? Because of demand? Something else?

I am not an expert, just a person making a WAG.

More people are going to college. More students = more faculty and staff. Which means more office space, laboratories, and lecture halls. More students = more dormitories, computer labs, dining halls, etc.

I also think people want their universities to be more than just a school. They expect the big athletic center and exciting student life activities. They want the library to stay open 24/7, and shuttle buses to ferry them around the sprawling campus. More diverse student bodies also require more services (assistance for handicapped students, for example).

To attract a better quality of student, even lower-tied colleges are pulling out all the stops to become competitive. Good students go to schools with big-name faculty, and big-name faculty command big-time salaries and state-of-the-art research facilities. And with the current economic climate being the way it is, more students also flocking to fields that are in demand. To woo people in these fields to instruct their students, universities have to offer competitive salaries.

My understanding is that the administrative side of secondary education has been steadily growing for years and since the administrative side is the one that’s approving budgets, there’s no one to say no, as it were.

The above is all true, but don’t forget to consider the role of cheap money. The supply to the demand, as it were. Without rivers of student loan money - from banks, private lenders, and especially federal and state governments, well, college would probably cost a lot less. It’s an inflationary environment, and those cause rising prices.