Why I'm a Programmer

You know, the last 2 days at work have been me banging my head against my desk in frustration. I’ve been chasing the same damn Javascript bug for 48 hours. I knew exactly where the code was occurring and so I danced around it chanting incantations and poking it with a stick trying to figure out why it would error.

Hunting a computer bug is a lot like hunting a real animal (or so I would imagine, since I’ve never hunted live game). You find the trail and back track to its home. You find its source and you carefully examine it from all angles to make sure you know what you’re hunting. Is this a Syntax or a typo? A malformation or what?

I spent 2 days at the thing’s door, trying to figure out what the hell I was dealing with. I looked at its tracks, I even stared the beast in the mouth and fed it cookies damnit; trying to get it to shit something useful.

Today I came in armed with a spear and a keyboard, ready to end this. One way or another, I would be victorious. The inkling of the origin of the problem came to me last night, I wondered if perhaps I was looking at the wrong place. I mean, I knew I was staring at the line that caused the error. But what if what caused the error was only showing up there? What if in truth there was something hidden that I was missing.

Sure enough, 3 hours into my day I finally found the beast’s den. I figured out the error and let out a cry of victory. I danced around the fire and swung my spear overhead. I had slain the beast. And earned nearly 2 and a half days wages in doing so.

This is why I’m a programmer. Because there are days of pain and frustration, agony and defeat. And then, that one day where the beast is slain and I stand victorious.

I am programmer. Hear me roar.

I think I’m the only programmer who doesn’t enjoy bug finding. Which may be why I tend to have very few. :cool:

Still, congratulations!

Of course, there are also the times when you spend three days looking for the elusive bug…