Why is a crescent moon special in Islam

As I was out walking this evening I noticed just how beautiful the two day old crescent moon was. This got me wondering why a new moon is of significance in Islam, and I am ashamed to say I have no idea.

I believe it marks the start and end of Ramadan. It’s also a symbol of peace (islam) since armies back in the day tended to deploy when the moon was brighter.

Well, the Turks/Ottomans had it, and the Persians. Apparently it became widely popular during the 14th–15th centuries, not that it had been an unknown symbol for the previous thousand years in Islamic contexts. But I don’t know enough to tell you about the origins of the crescent as a specifically Islamic symbol.

Or any of the other 12 months of the Islamic calendar: The new month officially starts when the first sliver of new moon is visible.

CAVEAT: I’m not an expert on Islam or symbolism, but I have studied both a bit, and this is my understanding:

The crescent moon isn’t special in Islam.

The Ottoman Turks, when they conquered Constantinople, adopted the Byzantine flag of the city, a crescent moon and star. That symbol, in turn, is a much older symbol, going back millennia in the Near East, to pre-Islamic and pre-Christian times.

The Ottoman Empire ruled much of the Islamic world, including the “three holies” (Mecca, Medina, and al-Quds [Jerusalem]), and the Ottoman Emperor also claimed the title of Caliph, the rightful ruler of the 'umma, the worldwide Muslim community.