Why is healthcare in the USA such a clusterfuck?

Iceland, Canada, UK, Japan, Norway, France all have single-payer healthcare and it works great. Why can’t we do it? Obamacare, IMO was a waste of time. If you’re going to call it the “Affordable care act” than prices need to go down, not up.
We also need to manage things much better. I used to work as a field computer technician for a company that managed nursing homes. A lot of the time, nobody would know what was going on and I often had to spend hours looking for missing computers, or computers that were sent to the wrong state instead of actually doing my job. Healthcare is the #1 cause of bankruptcy, and I highly doubt that paying overtime to an IT guy to sift through the warehouse, instead of keeping track of things to begin with, is going to cut costs.
If we can’t do single-payer for whatever reason, maybe we should cap the price of procedures. I have read articles saying that one hospital might charge $10k for an appendectomy, and another might charge over $100k.

I’m sure the Republican party will be very interested in hearing your suggestions.

IMHO it’s because a lot of powerful people (/corporations) have a lot invested in the current system.

Then there are the common people who think the current system works for them and fear change, especially if it involves government control.