Why Is It So Easy To Spoof E-Mail Headers?

I’m not that technically knowledgeable about the inner workings of e-mail, so I’d be obliged for a little explanation, or better yet, citation, as to how spoofing/altering/masking return e-mail address/header information is done (in general – I’m not trying to get a primer on how to start my own mass spam ring). Why, technically, is it so simple?

Or is it? How much of the “source” information can be concealed, and how much, technically, must be accessible (by source I mean the combination of data about the originating computer but also about relays, routes, etc. used after the original sending of the e-mail)? I ask because Spamcop usually gets some information, so it’s not literally true (as far as I can tell) that a message could land in your inbox with absolutely no indication of from where it came (if only in the sense that you could trace it back to the last hijacked relay in the chain, etc.).

I know that part of the answer to “why is this so easily hacked?” will likely be that the existing e-mail protocols were developed at a time when no one thought there was any money ein e-mail or the Internet, so they didn’t build in big safeguards that might hinder e-mail’s ease of use. Okay . . . but given that ingenuous initial approach, what specifically would have to be done (and how hard would it be) to indelibly mark every e-mail with an accurate source/return address? (I’m not saying this would be good on policy grounds, etc., or that systems based on such source-identification might not be used for ‘bad’ purposes, if only in the sense of imposing/tracking an electrronic postage requirement, but it might stop some of the spam at least for awhile).