Why is Race Walking an Olympic Sport But Dodge Ball Isn't?

I am very curious why race walking is an Olympic sport but why less “awkward” and much more popular sports, such as dodge ball, is not. Every time I watch coverage or read about race walking, it always comes out like something the Onion would produce. See this race walking Olympics clip from YouTube to see what I mean: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fsl53ft0byo

And is it true that golf is going to be included as an Olympic sport, too?!!! I’ve been hearing rumours about that for the 2016 games. Seriously, golf in the Olympics?

I have had it up to the clouds with the antics of the Olympics with what is included and removed. Is it even possible to petition the IOC? It seems like they need some serious competition.

Changes in Olympic sports.

Yes, golf will return in 2016. Rugby sevens will also start in 2016.

In addition to what Pasta said…

Race walking is one of the oldest track sports. Dodge ball isn’t played competitively.

Race walking is in the Olympics because it’s been there for years and is a recognized event in track and field and has been for over a century. You might as well ask why do they run the Marathon in the Olympics.

So what if it looks funny to you (though watching some of the women race walking today made it one of the sexiest looking events of the entire Olympics)?

What criteria are those IOC yahoos using to include golf???

Dodge ball is played competitively. For example: http://www.dodgeballusa.com/

It sure was at my elementary school :smiley: