why is stroke order in chinese/japanese important?

If you’re using a pen or even more so if you use a brush, why would the order in which you lay down strokes in Chinese/Japanese writing matter?

It makes it easier to read. If you’re reading hand written stuff (particularly messy hand written stuff), it’s easier to figure out what the character is if you know how it’s drawn.

Hmmm, I’ll see if I can find a good example of hand written characters to show you…

When I started learning Chinese, I would sometimes get the stroke order wrong. Without fail, my professor would spot it and correct me. He never explained why stroke order was important, but he certainly could see it.

Like golf and tennis, the follow-through after you hit the ball/paper is important. Each stroke flows to the next, so when you follow throuh to the wrong direction (i.e. if the pen/brush doesn’t head towards the correct next stroke), it looks unnatural.

OK, here are some examples of different hand writing: Example 1, Example 2, Example 3. (BTW, these are all short notes manga artists have written to their fans. Nothing real exciting.) You can see how the characters can get kinda messy. Knowing the stroke order make 'em easier to figure out…

I don’t understand how it makes it easier to figure them out. In anycase, the question was about why writing them in stroke order is good.

Because a lot of times, when people write quickly, the stokes are incomplete or maybe they look rounded when they should have been a sharp corner or, like you often see in fancy calligraphy, the writer won’t completely lift the pen or brush from the page between strokes and one stroke will flow into the next. If you use the correct stroke order, you’ll tend to make the same mistakes other people using that stroke order would make. And the lines connecting the strokes will all be in the same places.