Why Paw-LIE-nah?

It’s like Houston Street in New York–you can immediately spot a tourist by the way they mispronounce Paulina Street. But who’s saying it wrong? I do know that the street was named after some shyster developer’s wife, but how did she say her first name? Will we ever know?

Heh…I was in a Brown Line train once and I heard some kid talking on his cell phone…“Well, I’m at Pauleena now…look, I don’t care how it’s pronounced, in German it’s pronounced ‘pawl-EE-nah.’”

The town of Paulina Iowa is pronounced Paul eee na
Not that this has anything to do with the subject matter. :slight_smile:

Because if it was pronounced “Paul-EE-na,” then there would be only two streets that rhyme with female genitalia.

Funt Street and what other?

Lunt, actually, and Melvina.

No Dolores Street?

Heh. I was on the Brown Line for the first time (total newb here) and heard the robot voice say “Next is Paul-LIE-nuh. Doors open on the right at Paul-LIE-nuh.” So when I got off the train I asked my friend, “Is that one of those things where the robot horribly mangles the pronunciation or do you people really call it that?” Turns out, these wacky children really call it that.

Don’t go with the Francophone pronunciation of Armitage, either. The last syllable is closer to “-tidge” rather than “-tahzhe.”

So how did “Devon” end up sounding like some kind of couch rather than a county in the West of England?

I put the emphasis on the first syllable of “Balbo” for many years, like it was the name of a hobbit or something. It was only when the CTA started playing those pre-recorded street names on the buses that I switched to the correct (?) pronunciation.

Along these lines, here’s a brief interview with the guy who recorded the CTA voice announcements. Among other facts, it is revealed that several different versions of many street names were recorded, and it was left to the CTA administrators to decide which version to use.