"Wide Detention Power Upheld"

Quotes around the post’s title because I lifted it wholesale from SCOTUSblog.

In short:

It’s discussing Al-Bihani v. Obama, which can be read here (PDF file).

And…

Correct on all counts.

What would prevent the US from throwing Dick Cheney into detention as an unlawful combatant? Next time he leaves the country, detain him at the border when he re-enters, and tag him with that apparently unassailable designation that renders the subject in legal limbo which requires him to prove his innocence?

Doesn’t this strike you as a way for the government to eliminate their political opponents, simply by declaring them terrorists?

Boy, I’m no legal expert, but it sure seems that this ruling would permit soldiers to commit certain atrocities (perhaps intentionally targeting non-combatants, or use of weapons prohibited by treaty) that are prohibited by the laws of war, yet not specifically prohibited by US law.

If this is indeed the case, one could imagine that if a soldier would object to an order as being unlawful under the laws of war, then he wouldn’t have a valid reason to object to the order if the US Code happened to be silent on the subject.

That alarms me.

Perhaps correct by the letter of the law, but violently in opposition to its spirit. Nothing new, IOW.

I’ll wait until the Supremes weigh in, assuming it’ll get bump upstairs. I have to say, though, that I would be surprised if they overturned this ruling as long as we’re talking about non-US citizens captured outside US territory.

Still, it’s clear that they are saying: Hey, Congress, it’s your job to declare and undeclare war.