Winter Windshield Wash

Can’t complain about our first snow falling in December, but when buying windshield wash once again wondered about differences. You can buy cheap blue wash advertising how it works above -35 degrees (Celsius is about the same as Farenheit here), or more expensive yellow or pink washes advertising how they reduce ice buildup, contain detergent to clean grime, and will give you a gentle back massage if asked nicely. The more expensive ones work to -45 or -49 degrees, which for practical purposes is the same as the cheap stuff since the last time it was that cold I was a student in Montreal.

Is it worth paying more for a nicer colour, or is this a ripoff? Do the cheap ones lack detergent? Are the pricier ones more concentrated and thus marginally better in the cold? Would both work well on the summer when bugs are more burdensome than blizzards?

Perhaps someone can comment if there is a problem with the windshield washer fluid being diluted from the water from the ice and snow and thus only effective to a warmer temperature than advertised?

I have had summer ones freeze in the pump and had to park inside a parkade to thaw it. The winter stuff does make a difference. Please note, I live in the Canadian prairies.

And another question: If you are half-filled with the cheap stuff, can you top it off with the more expensive stuff? Can the two be mixed?

I always have and nothing has ever exploded. It takes a few uses before the anti-ice components take over, but that’s no big whoop. I get the pricier Home Depot stuff for winter and dilute it a little w/ water.

You can combine them just fine. There isn’t anything exotic about most windshield wiper fluids. It is just pre-packaged, common ingredients mixed together.