Women MMO players, have you had other players develop crushes on you?

I’ve been playing MMOs for over 10 years now. Every couple of years, some player that I don’t know in real life develops a crush on me, and I have to have a “You don’t really know. I’m not really green skinned with big boobs, running around in a chain mail bikini, swinging a sword” conversation.

I do role play, but I don’t do erotic role playing. I don’t share personal info in-game, beyond “Yum, this dinner turned out well” kind of stuff. Heck, I don’t even confirm that the real me is female. And yet, I get “What would you say, if I told you I more than like you.”

So other women that play MMOs, do you have this happen to you? I’m not talking about the idiot who decides the pretend to grope every female character, but the ones more like a high school crush.

I’m not looking for advice, because I could stop them, by being a bitchy player or being all business, but I don’t want to do that. I’m just wondering if other women have this happen to them.

Only the core group of guildies I run with know I’m female (if you play a male, you’re automatically assumed to be male!). All the guys in there are older and already attached, so I haven’t run into anything. I don’t admit to my gender in PUGs and don’t do voice chat with strangers.

My wife did. We left guilds over it. (Yes, they kept at it even after being told “You see this male avatar I’m always travelling with? HE’S MY RL SPOUSE. HE IS LOOKING AT MY PRIVATE CHAT WINDOW RIGHT NOW.” The desperate are difficult to communicate with.)

Oh yes.

Not in a long time, mostly because I’m VERY careful about who I let know I’m actually truly female. Which seems totally odd, since I’m probably old enough to be a lot of player’s mother. But yeah, back when I wasn’t so careful, things could get odd.