Word for Mac

Eventually, I’ll get access to my old hard drive. When I do, I’ll write all of my Word documents onto a CD so that I can get to them if (when) I have more problems with my PC. Wouldn’t it be nice if I could use my Word documents on my PowerBook G4? Then I could just pop in the disc and type away!

I see that amazon has Word for Mac, but it costs 200 bones. :eek: There are two reviews. One reviewer gave it five stars, mentioning that it ran slow on his G3 but very fast on a friend’s G5. I guess I’d be in the middle. The other reviewer gave three stars and said that one should consider skipping it.

I’m very new to Macs, and haven’t tried the word processor yet. (I assume the computer came with one, but I don’t even know what it’s called if it did.) Will it ‘translate’ Word documents into the Mac equivalent? I don’t have any Word docs that are transportable, so I can’t even test it.

I got a Powerbook a few months ago, and it came with a demo version of Word 2004. I tried to open a couple of Word files, and it didn’t work. I can open Word files in TextEdit, but it doesn’t keep any of the formatting, so you get just the text.

You can always try OpenOffice for the Mac. If it’s anything like the Windows and Linux version, it should be able to open most Word files. Don’t have a Mac, though, so I can’t say for sure.

The claim is that Appleworks 6.0 can read and write Word files. I haven’t tried it, but at $79.00, it seems like an attractive alternative to Word.

One thing to try is to save your word documents as RTF* files. Any of the fancy stuff like embedded pictures and such (I believe) can’t be saved. But for text formatting, fonts, underlines, etc. everything should be preserved and portable.
True, I’ve always had Word so have done the wimpy thing and saved to .doc files–but in my understanding, almost everything supports RTF, even though no one seems to use it. Keep your backups till you have verified them all of course. :wink: