Words that have a different meaning in your profession than generally

When my province started opening up again in the summer, there was one sign that kept catching my attention. It was from a local beauty salon announcing they were open and the services they were providing.

The phrase that kept catching me by surpise:

“Pedis are back and available!”

If you’re a lawyer, who’s been involved in the criminal courts, “pedis” have a meaning that I don’t think the hair salon meant…

Pad, or sometimes moving pad. Most people not movers by trade call them blankets or quilts. Understandable as they closely resemble a blanket or quilt, but we call them pads. Heck there are even large pieces of brown, multilayer paper we call paper pad or brown pad. Burlap pads are skins and some skins are felted(have a less abrasive cloth pad attached on one side) and some skins are straight burlap. But they are not for providing warmth and snuggles, they are for padding items to help prevent damage during moving

Naked options. Nothing do with with clothing optional, just derivatives trading.

Detour and frolic?

With photography, there’s a lot of crossover with weaponry words like “shoot/shooter,” but most people are aware of that, I think. But it can get a little odd-sounding when you ask someone if you shot so-and-so, or saying something like “dude, hurry up, you gotta go shoot 'em!” to your second photographer.

Perhaps not as well-known is using phrases like “run and gun” and “spray and pray” (which are used with weaponry, as well) to mean a type of rapid-fire on-the-go photography technique, but understandable from context.

“Glass” means lenses to us. Back in the film days “dunking” meant developing your film by hand (like I might say, “I used to shoot and dunk film for a wire agency.”) “Soft” is a nicer word for “blurry” or “out of focus.”

I’m sure there must be more, but that’s all that’s coming to mind.