Work Bureaucracy Stories

Got something at work that makes a simple task very difficult? Here’s a chance to vent. :cool:

I work as a Laboratory Manager for a university, so bureaucratic red tape is everywhere. Here are some things that drive me up a wall:

We must have the longest address in the world. Here’s the template for it:
Line 1: Individual’s Name
Line 2: Department Name, Mail Stop #
Line 3: Building Name
Line 4: Street Address, Room #
Line 5: PO Box #
Line 6:City, State, ZIP

Ordering supplies is a challange, not only because most places don’t have enough room on the order form for our address. Last week we need some suture silk. Here are the steps I had to take:

1. Call the “preferred vendor” (we’re required to contact them first for any order). Find out that they don’t carry the silk, but will order it for us from the manufacturer at an extra $20 a box plus shipping and handling. Why can’t I order it directly from the manufacturer? They don’t have a contract with the University. :smack:
  2. Go to the online internal supply system. Maybe the University keeps the silk in stock. They run a hospital after all. Find out that the Internal Supply Procurement system has been privitized and I need to fill out forms with the company for an account number (break out the address-from-hell and argue with the rep about emailing our account info.) :rolleyes:
  3. Call a friend that does surgery on a regular basis. Ask her to add some silk onto her next order and I’ll trade her for some other supplies that are easier for me to get (for now).

I got a new flavor boss.
Until now, my bosses could be classified neatly in two boxes based on “who is in charge of getting things done”.