Working 60 hours a week and relationships.

I just got dumped. The relationship lasted about 3 months. It was fun while it was happening, and while I hoped it would continue…it was her decision to end it. I feel sad, but since it was so short I’m sure I’ll be over it soon.

My question though is: Does working 60 hour weeks mean that your relationship will suffer? I’m in a job for five more months where I will continue to work this much. I am constantly evaluating if maybe working this much regularly will prevent me from ever being in a long-term relationship. What do you think? Is it even possible now to find a reasonably well paying job working 40-50 hours a week? I’m a teacher.

Thanks all.

I’m sorry to hear your relationship ended. I work about 60 hours a week and it doesn’t cause a problem with my relationship.

Why do you think your working hours hurt the relationship? Maybe you can adjust for future relationships.

There are 168 hours in a week leaving 108 hours for other things including relationships. I think the people for whom working 60 hours a week cause a problem is because their job dominates their life when they are off work–they are too exhausted to do anything, they are bitching about their bosses, they are taking work home from the office… Look at all the people with 40 hour jobs: most of them waste huge amounts of time watching TV, posting on Straightdope…

Try working the night shift dude. I’ve ended many a relationship due to my odd hours.

[del]How does a teacher work the night shift?[/del] Never mind, I’m dumb. I get what you’re saying.

And even if you only sleep 6 hours a night, that’s still more than 40 hours, so “108 hours for other stuff” is a little misleading.