I hadn’t seen that one before. It is debatable whether the red-jersied player deserved a red-card for that act alone–it is possible that he said something as or after he kicked the ball, or that there was some other circumstance involved.
But I certainly hope that Rivaldo was cautioned for that dive. Though I suspect he wasn’t. It is interesting that several comments on the YouTube page mentioned that a penalty kick was given for this “offense”. It is impossible to see how that could have happened. It would have been so utterly ridiculous that an assistant referee (not to mention all of the red team’s players) would certainly have spoken to the referee about such a mistake.
The problem isn’t even so much that the “foul” didn’t occur in the penalty area (although that is a rather enormous problem). The problem is that no foul of any sort occurred. There can not be a foul when the ball is out of play. Obviously there can be *misconduct *(leading to a yellow or a red card, or worse), but a foul can only be committed when the ball is in play.
I would love to know whether a penalty kick was actually awarded because of what transpired in that clip.