Would it really be so bad if Roe v. Wade were reversed?

I’m pro-choice all the way on principle. But, as a lawyer, I have never approved of the Roe v. Wade decision, because it is poorly reasoned. Finding a “right of personal privacy” implicit in the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments, as Justice Blackmun did, is intellectually indefensible. Suppose the next time the issue came up, the Supreme Court agreed and overturned the decision. Would that be so bad? Such a decision would not constitute a new ban on abortion. It would simply strip abortion of its constitutional protection and reduce it to the status of an ordinary political issue, to be dealt with by Congress and the state legislatures, and pro-choicers would have to fight for abortion rights in a different set of forums – where they’re pretty well represented already.

Yeah, I mean, would it be that bad if only a quarter of the states got rid of abortion? We’re talking millions of people, not hundreds of millions, after all. Naw, doesn’t sound too bad.

Incidentally, what would become of women who decided to travel out of the state they lived in to have an abortion?

That’s where it starts to get interesting!

Lotsa work for us lawyers, anyway! :smiley:

Roe v. Wade was a travesty. I can understand people supporting abortion. I can understand people cynically saying, “Yeah for our side,” regarding the decision. I just can’t understand anyone saying the decision made legal sense.

Overturning it, however, would bring lots of chaos, however. The culture war would heat up even more, and you’d have people supporting constitutional amendments both to restrict abortion and to make a right of it. Even as a pro-lifer, I do find that kind of conflict very fun.