Would we die of shock if we weren't anaesthetised during surgery?

Any medical experts in the house? Would we faint or could we die from shock?

I’m definitely not a medical expert but I would assume that if intrepid women can survive childbirth without the aid of pain-killers, the rest of us could survive surgery similarly. Who knows though…

I’m not a medical expert either… but surgery certainly predates anaesthesia by many centuries. Archaeologists have turned up skulls from thousands of years ago that have holes made by trepannation. And I remember reading fairly recently (on this board? Might be…) about kidney stones, and how the operation of being “cut for the stone”, while no picnic for an eighteenth-century patient, was preferable to enduring the pain of the stone itself.

Come to think of it, there was a documentary a few years back on (UK) Channel Four, about hypnosis, and whether it has any actual effect. One thing it mentioned was the use of hypnosis to replace anaesthesia during surgery - and then they showed an operation being performed by a surgeon who didn’t use anaesthetics or hypnosis… made me cringe, I can tell you.

Anaesthesia obviously reduces the stress on the patient, and makes it easier for the surgeon to work, too. But people survived before anaesthesia was effective. Also, there are those occasional horror stories one hears, where the anaesthesia is only partly effective and the patient remains aware during the procedure. The fact that patients can report this after the event suggests that the pain of surgery isn’t necessarily fatal.

An interesting side note: There is evidence to suggest that parts of the brain (I don’t like the word, but it would be considered your sub-concious mind) function in a completely normal fashion while ‘under.’ i.e. that on some level you know what’s going on. Some say this accounts for post-operative depression and vivid nightmares involving factual information from the surgery.