Would you go to El Salvador?

I have an opportunity to travel to a seminary in El Salvador. Everything in me says to go, and I feel I probably will.

But what are your opinions about the possible perils of traveling there? Anyone ever been?

I haven’t been to El Salvador but I have been to fairly nearby Costa Rica. Costa Rica was certainly a joy and you are probably as safe there as at home.

More importantly, I once had an employee and friend from El Salvador. She talked about it all the time. I gathered that it is very poor and has a large impoverished population and pretty poor infrastructure. I don’t think it would be nearly as safe as Costa Rica either. However, for somewhere roughly in the Third-World, I don’t think it would be that bad. I never thought of it as terribly dangerous and nicer are accessible nearby. I would go if that is what I was interested in.

I have no personal experiences to offer, but the US Consular Info Sheet has several entries which I would deem “concerning” at the least.