Writing for love and money (but mostly love)

As a long-time lurker, newbie poster, I’ve noticed that there are more than a few would-be writers among us Dopers, and probably a good few published authors as well. I just thought it would be nice to start a thread where we could encourage each other to keep going, share ideas and resources, and just generally help each other out. Apologies in advance if this has already been done to death in previous threads. I’ll start with what is probably a very common question:

In between working a 9-5 job and general daily responsibilities like families and friends, how on earth are you supposed to find the time to write? Seems like if I’m lucky enough to grab 3-4 free hours a day, I’m going to be writing for years before I get close to finishing a 400 page novel.

So published authors with day jobs, aspiring writers juggling life and writing, just where do you find the time?

Well, I’m a fast writer. 3-4 hours is more than enough for me to bang off 2000-3000 words. I wrote a 60 000 word novel (as mentioned in another thread) in four weeks. Once you really get rolling, you’d be surprised how much you can get down (to the point where you wish your fingers could keep up with your brain). If you’re serious about writing, write at least 1000 words a day (2000 is even better, if you can manage), every day. The every day part is important, because it’ll take a lot longer to write if you take breaks in between. You gotta keep the momentum going to get the maximum usage out of your time.

I was really on the stick for a long time writing every day and taking writing classes. I even got a grant to write an ethnography of the animal shelter through my college. (My proudest writing achievement ever) Then we moved and I havent written more than a few paragraphs in the last year. Mostly because I am so miserable and I hate it here!! (Not the SDMB but where I live now)