Your instincts for the meaning of these buttons

You’re in the middle of getting a program to create a folder for you. There are two buttons at the bottom of the pop-up window for this task. The one on the left is white, the one on the right is black. One says finish, the other says cancel.

If they weren’t labeled, and instead looked like this, which one would you click on to finalize the creation of your new folder?

The black one.

Wow, that would be awful interface design!

But if I knew that the choices were “finish” and “cancel,” I’d take the black button to mean “cancel.”

I picked the black button because:

1. The black served as a highlight, so the highlighted option should be the one that you would normally do – that is, finish. (If the action were more destructive if accidentally pressed, e.g. “Delete all users’ home directories?”, I’d expect the highlighted button to say cancel.

2. I’ve been using Macs for 30 years now. The default option should be on the outside of the window. (This is the opposite of Windows, of course.)

3. The gray outline made me think of something that wasn’t there anymore – i.e., don’t make a new folder. (Of course, a grayed-out button or UI feature has meant a disabled option since at least the days of Lisa and Windows 1.0, so…)

I think they went with a gray outline simply because it matches their new color scheme.
Oh, FTR, I removed the text from the screen capture of the buttons, folks, because this really isn’t a hypothetical question.

Yeah, I think I went with the black one probably because of my Mac background. In something like a Save/Cancel dialogue box, I expect the Cancel to be to the left, and the Save on the right, as well as the Cancel being in white, and the Save being in solid color (blue, usually.) While I do still occasionally use Windows, I actually didn’t notice until now that it’s oriented the other way on Windows, with the Save option on the left, and the Cancel option on the right.