HELP WANTED:Therapist, witch doctor, or hypnotist. Light John Kerry's Fire.

When I watch Kerry on TV, and I think back on his days as a trial lawyer, I am so glad he was a prosecutor…

I know that his life cannot be as boring as it is for the rest of us to bump up against him.

I love him for VVAW and I would drag my body over five miles of broken glass if it would guarantee him winning, but, o lordy, please, just don’t make me listen to him giving a speech.

I know that Scaramouche is hiding in there somewhere (hell, his old lady is a serious pistol and she’s SIXTY fer cryin’ out loud…).

To frame this in therapiztspeak (god forgive me…) I see the authenticity deficit noted by Alice Miller in Prisoners of Childhood.http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0465062873?v=glance

(Oddly enough, Ice-T was invited to give a seminar on this subject at Harvard (I swear before Jesus, this is true!) and later mentioned how authenticity did not seem to be a problem in the ghetto.)

Anyway, how can we awaken John’s inner Zorro?

He’s saving it for the end of the campaign. Doesn’t want to come out of the gates and run out of steam.

Yea, that’s it. Gotta be it. Please lord, let that be it.

The thing is, I love the guy. WAY more than Dean. He needs Edwards as an exemplar, if not as running mate.

(Or, for that matter, Ice T wouldn’t be a bad coach. The comments I alluded to were directed to Terry Gross in a typically spectacular Fresh Air.)

So? Kerry does display much, much more of the “fire-in-the-belly” than Dukakis had in '88. And, anyway, I hope we’ve learned something from that experience – in hindsight, Dukakis would’ve made a much better president than did Bush I. (John Lovitz said it perfectly when he played Dukakis in the contemporary SNL debate skit: “I can’t believe I’m losing to this guy!”)