I have too much protein in my blood, what does this mean exactly

I’ve tried selling plasma for spending money but they said my blood has too much protein in it (8.6, 8.5 was the cutoff point). What does this mean exactly, and what kind of proteins would they be referring to? is this a medically dangerous thing, and (for health and selling plasma reasons) how can i bring it down? They told me to drink more liquids and i tried that but it didn’t work.

Have you been mainlining pork again?

Get off the Atkins diet stat!

Perhaps I’m off base here but … isn’t this a GQ question?

Are you on a low-carb diet? If so, make sure you’re drinking plenty of water. Could you up your exercise, especially your weight-lifting routine? Otherwise, cut back a bit on your protein-rich meats and replace with high fiber veggies. If you’re still on Induction, wait a few weeks and try again.

(Atkins dieter here, for the record)

I’m not a doctor, but I’m kinda close (a veterinarian actually). The physiology is the same between you and your cat, so here goes:

First of all - dietary protein intake has NOTHING to do with blood protein levels. So altering your intake won’t affect your blood protein.
All the protein you eat is broken down into amino acids before it’s absorbed. If those amino acids are not needed by the body they are eliminated in your urine (the reason that high protein diets are said to be hard on your kidneys).

Your blood protein is composed of two parts: albumin and globulin.

Albumin goes up (in a relative sense) when you have less fluid in your bloodstream. That’s why they’re telling you to drink lots of fluids - to dilute the albumin.

Globulin goes up when there is inflammation in your body somewhere. Drinking water isn’t going to change this number very much (unless you are in kidney failure, but I think you’d know if you were).