The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Old 02-07-2004, 11:17 PM

Did anybody really used to peel grapes?

Peeled grapes have become a parody of indulgence for a Supreme Ruler. He lazily orders one of his scantily dressed cucumbers—er, concubines—to peel him a grape. Did any rulers in history actually do this, or is it a recent invention of writers and filmmakers?
Advertisements  
Old 02-07-2004, 11:26 PM

No idea, but I know I've done it for myself. Probably much more trouble than it's worth, but peeled grapes, man!. Cheap luxury for a boy frae the 'burbs.
Old 02-08-2004, 12:26 AM

It should be noted that grapes in the old days were not the high-quality specimens with 2000 years of dedicated breeding which we take for granted today. Grape skins were INCREDIBLY sour and quite thick, and grapes had SEEDS! Getting someone else to peel your grapes was not as odd a concept as we imagine.

Having said that, I have no experience of anyone doing it other than as a joke.

=8^}
Old 02-08-2004, 03:11 AM

Here in Korea, no one eats the skins of the grapes. The skin is very tough and it would take a long time to chew it well enough to swallow it. However, peeling would take forever. To eat a grape here, bite where the stem was. Don't bite completely through. Then, suck the insides out, squeeze the grape skin to get out all the juice, and discard the skin. As for the seeds, they are HUGE and easy to avoid. Just spit them on a plate in front of you. When I first came, I didn't know how to eat the grapes and I actually sat down once and PEELED a huge bunch of them. Felt really stupid when later I saw how Koreans eat them...so much simpler. Still, it's not considered a big deal to peel grapes...I've also seen people do that (rarely) ...usually for guests when the occasion is too formal to have everyone spitting seeds into a communal plate.
Old 02-08-2004, 03:21 AM
Charter Member

My brother and his wife peel grapes for their son.