The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2004, 03:38 PM
Cleric Cleric is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Strange webpage I stumbled accross

I was googling for a name and this page came up..

http://johlan.trejd.nu/eluding/

It almost seems like a collection of those phrases that are suppose to get past spam filters. Does that page make sense to anyone else?
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
  #2  
Old 03-15-2004, 04:14 PM
CurtC CurtC is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
To me, it looks like a dictionary, except with words substituted for others.

Besides the link you provided, you can apparently get it to work with any English word: http://johlan.trejd.nu/straight/ .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2004, 04:34 PM
Random Random is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by CurtC
To me, it looks like a dictionary, except with words substituted for others.

Besides the link you provided, you can apparently get it to work with any English word: http://johlan.trejd.nu/straight/ .
Not every word. I tried about 10 common words, and about half worked. I can't figure out the purpose, but someone put a lot of work into it.

There doesn't seem to be a home page. If you delete the final word in the link, you get an empty page.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2004, 04:56 PM
MikeS MikeS is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 2,021
I've seen pages like this before, and they've been explained to me as "spambot traps". A bot finds a link to this page and goes merrily searching through the links for potential e-mail addresses to send Viagra ads to; but since the pages are randomly generated, it'll never stop looking through this particular website. It looks like "those phrases that are suppose to get past spam filters" because, presumably, the bots have some kinds of filters that let them look at only "real" webpages.

This is only what I've been told, though; I don't have any independent confirmation.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2004, 05:53 PM
j66 j66 is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2002
Does the suffix '.nu' refer to anything?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2004, 05:59 PM
Nanoda Nanoda is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 3,463
It means it's registered in the Niue country top level domain. There are allegations an American company stole the registration rights for the country, which isn't really surprising actually. There's more around about that if you search for it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2004, 07:50 PM
aahala aahala is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Here's a link I've found that seems to fit:

http://www.microcontentnews.com/arti...ooglebombs.htm
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-15-2004, 08:55 PM
ComeToTheDarkSideWeHaveCookies ComeToTheDarkSideWeHaveCookies is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Idle hands...

I was clicking around on the larger hyperlink words in the site in the OP, and I waited untill something pretty obscure came up to do a little test. The obscure link I chose was "bearing-rein". I clicked it, and then hit Google. The OP's url path was the 3rd top-level hit.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:39 PM
TJdude825 TJdude825 is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Did anyone notice the number at the bottom of all the pages. It says:

total: 0.55878806114197

except the number is apparently always different. What do you think that means?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:48 PM
caphis caphis is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJdude825
Did anyone notice the number at the bottom of all the pages. It says:

total: 0.55878806114197

except the number is apparently always different. What do you think that means?
My educated guess would be the time it took to render the page.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-16-2004, 10:03 AM
peterpeter peterpeter is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Man, that really is one wierd webpage (the original one mentioned). I don't know if any of the explanations listed so far really satisfy my sense of it. The page quoted here is interesting, but I don't really understand it completely, the idea of Googlebombs; and I don't see its relevance to the original page in question.

The whole thing just reminds me of the first AI book I ever encountered, titled "The Policeman's Beard Is Half-Constructed", an actual text of prose and poetry (?) composed by a kind of algorithmic text-generating program named Racter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aahala
Here's a link I've found that seems to fit:

http://www.microcontentnews.com/arti...ooglebombs.htm
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-16-2004, 10:20 AM
Achilles Achilles is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 492
Whoever he is "johlan" of the URL, has created 5,520 pages of BS. With this in mind I imagine that he didn't put too much work into these pages - I reckon they're auto generated.

It doesn't work as a googlebomb, cause there is no central "theme" for google to capture - anyone of the phrases will be captured with google, but all of them equally.

I think it looks like a spambot killer.
__________________
There are 10 types of people - those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-16-2004, 10:25 AM
Achilles Achilles is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 492
Also, if you "view source" the HTML is a mess - no-one in their right mind would write HTML that looked like that, nor would MS Frontpage / Dreamweaver et cetera.

Auto generated. Definately.
__________________
There are 10 types of people - those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-16-2004, 10:26 AM
peterpeter peterpeter is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Thank you. I thought I understood the "bomb" idea correctly, but as it was applied to the page in question, it made no sense. Your comment shows me I was thinking correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles
It doesn't work as a googlebomb, cause there is no central "theme" for google to capture - anyone of the phrases will be captured with google, but all of them equally.
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

The Straight Dope / Questions or comments for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com
Comments regarding this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com
For advertising information, see the Creative Loafing Media, Inc. Online Rate Sheet
"The Straight Dope by Cecil Adams" is a registered trademark of Creative Loafing Media, Inc. Contents of the Straight Dope Message Board and the Straight Dope Web site are copyright 1984-2009 by Creative Loafing Media, Inc. All rights reserved. By posting on this board you grant the Creative Loafing Media, Inc., and its successors and assigns a nonexclusive irrevocable right to re-use your posting in any manner it or they see fit without notice or compensation to you. No material contained in this site may be republished or reposted without express written consent of the Creative Loafing Media, Inc., except that message board users retain the right to republish or repost their own work.

Other Creative Loafing Media, Inc. sites:

Creative Loafing Atlanta | Creative Loafing Charlotte | Chicago Reader | Creative Loafing Sarasota | Creative Loafing Tampa | Washington City Paper