Why did the chicken cross the road? - Star Trek (or other Sci-Fi) version

McCoy: I’m a doctor, dammit! Not Colonel Sanders!

Spock: Logically, it must have been fascinated with something.

Q: You couldn’t even begin to comprehend the reasons. Growl for me, Worf.

Worf: Klingons don’t have chickens.

Paul Atriedes: The road is the chicken killer. I will face the road and allow the chicken to pass thru me.

Gurney Halleck: Young cluck! Young cluck!

Sarah Conner: It was terminated.

Star Trek:

Because it had a red shirt and Kirk sent it to check out that rock across the road.

2001:
Its destination and purpose, still a total mystery.

Rattletrap Galactica:

Because it was fleeing from the Cylon menace.

Because it didn’t want to be reborn in the fiery ritual of carousel.

Star Trek: TNG - Because Geordi reveresed its polarity

Because there was a rift in the time-space continuum, the chicken was stuck in an endless loop, repeatedly getting halfway across the road only to be mashed into paste by a mack truck. The chicken started having deja vu experiences before it finally figured out that it shouldn’t cross the road until an additional 15 seconds had passed. Once it did that, the loop was resolved, and the chicken was able to complete its objective of delivering supplies to Deep Chicken Coop Nine.

There isn’t really a chicken. The Vorlons have manipulated your racial memory.

Because Resistance was futile?

–Because a nearby ion storm made it impossible to get a transporter lock on the other side.

–Chickens undergo a biological cycle that compels them to cross the road once every seven years. They just don’t like to talk about it.

–It was seduced by the Dark Meat of the Force.