Musicals that should have never been made

As some of you may recall me mentioning, I assist a high school speech team locally. One student is doing a speech on musicals and it is absolutely fantastic! Great facts, great presentation- the works.

In one part of the speech, he dicusses “Musicals that should have never been made.” One he mentions is, “Home Sweet Homer.” Anyone seen this? Apparently it is the Odyssy as a musical…with ballet dancing cyclopses. Awesome. (Although if I ever made a musical, it would involve ninjas, pirates and cold fire. That is irrelevent, though).

We’ve spent a lot of time researching musicals and have found a few funny stories, but- since most of these plays only lasted a night- it is hard to find info on the truly hilarious musicals.

I don’t think this qualifies as homework help, since I am not a student (I’m a coach) and this is not an assignment. So, I’m hoping that my fellow Dopers who are well versed in all that is Broadway can help us out.

What are some of the strangest, funniest, down-right odd Broadway musicals that have been out there?

One of the most famous examples is the musical version of Stephen King’s Carrie.

There’s also Dance of the Vampires with Michael Crawford.

There was a short-lived science fiction musical thast I never saw. It didn’t last long – Via Galactica.
I saw Richard Rodgers’ (of Rodgers and Hart, and Rogers and Hammerstein) very last musical on its pre-Broadway run – Rex. It starred Nicol Williamson as the titular Henry VIII , and was eminently forgettable. They breezed through three of Henry’s six wives during the intermission, and the play wallowed in its share of low humor.
By the way, King Richard’s Faire here in Massachusetts put on a musical version of The Odyssey a couple of years ago, and it was a hoot. Our then five-year-old daughter loved it.

How about A Shoggoth on the Roof,the musical man was not ment to perform.