Delay lawyers subpoena Earle

More of a GQ than GD, but I thought it might lead to GD territory.
From here:

OK, I thought subpoenas were issued by judges, not lawyers? Or can I (through my lawyer) subpoena someone if the mood moves me? And just what is the legal action being adjudicated here? Is this part of the Delay indictment, or did Delay’s lawyers somehow file this as a separate suit (or whatever the proper term is)? Is subpoening a prosecutor even proper?

I’m sure my confusion is mostly a result of AP’s poorly written story. If a lawyer could clarify, I’d be grateful.

I’m not a lawyer. Subpeonas are issued by judges, but at the request of lawyers on either side of a case.

In the Karl Rove era, any time Republicans get themselves into trouble, the noise machine spews out a torrent of attacks against the opposition. If you check the conservative columnists and the blogs, you’ll find that they are, in unison, painting Ronnie Earle as a raving madman, bent on destroying that fine upstanding fellow, Tom DeLay. There’s a remarkable sameness as they all work from the same talking points. His lawyers are just part of the chorus.

Poor, poor, Tom DeLay. :rolleyes:

I don’t know the details, but you’re right in theory and wrong in practice on the issue of law. Yes, it takes a judge to issue a subpoena (there are exceptions including Congressional and state-legislative committees and grand juries, but as a general rule it takes a judge). However, they do it at the behest of the parties to a lawsuit, i.e., at their lawyers’ behest. The AP was shorthanding, “the subpoena issued by the judge at the request of attorneys representing DeLay” to the phrasing in the story.