How do I learn to be less competent?

I have a lot of experience and a lot of things that I’m very good at doing at work, but my employer rarely pays me enough to use all my skills, but they always seem to want to get a high level and wide breadth of work out of me. They just keep loading on task after task, and as I keep doing them well, they just load on more. It’s not just one job, either - this has happened to me at virtually every job I’ve had.

How do I put the brakes on subtly so my employer gets only their money’s worth, and so that I don’t feel taken advantage of? Am I morally obligated to do anything I can for an employer, regardless of what my duties are supposed to be or what the pay is?

(Oh, by the way, I work in administrative/accounting positions.)

I have that same problem and it has been a concerning me for some time. I build and troubleshoot parts of complex information networks. It could be anything from coding a complex report, to some financial analysis, to making computer systems at different large companies handle automated transactions without fail.

I have been at my current job for 4 months and I am already getting too good at it. I can analyze and fix complex problems within minutes or hours whereas it takes my peers days or more. Some of this stuff is really complicated and takes all kinds of different knowledge to solve.

Still, computers and systems won’t let you bullshit. Either it is right or wrong. They give me three or four complex problems a day and I just casually fix them. They give my coworkers (who are experienced themselves) the same types of problems and it takes them days. As a matter of fact, I usually end end doing theirs too on the side because I get bored and I don’t even mention it to anyone.

The problem is that my coworkers are sitting their with sweat pouring down their brow all day long and staying late while I am surfing the Dope half the day.