The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Old 03-20-2006, 10:59 AM

How do anabolic steroids make your head bigger?

Or in other words, what part of your head increases in size? I imagine it's the skull, though it's hard for me to see how that would happen. Does your brain get bigger too, or does it just slosh around more? Also, when you stop taking steroids, does your head shrink down again?

Inquiring minds want to know!
Advertisements  
Old 03-20-2006, 11:09 AM
Charter Member

Do heads get larger when using steroids? Always?
Old 03-20-2006, 11:10 AM
Charter Member

I studied steriods in grad school and I have never heard of this.
Old 03-20-2006, 11:18 AM

The only thing that I can think of is that IIRC anabolic steroids have a tendancy to make you retain water, which I suppose could account for puffiness in the extremities and the adipose tissue of the face. That might be what the OP meant by the head getting larger.
Old 03-20-2006, 11:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shagnasty
I did a postdoc studying steroids and I never heard of this.
Old 03-20-2006, 11:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shagnasty
I think the op is thinking about Human Growth Hormone. Head size has been a big topic in recent debates about steroids and HGH use.

Here's a cached google article from last year discussing Barry Bonds and head size.
Quote:
Bonds did not say whether he had taken steroids, but he laughed at speculation that his head has grown in recent years. Head growth is a common side effect of Human Growth Hormone, while shrunken testicles is a common side effect of anabolic steroids.
Old 03-20-2006, 12:34 PM