Ask the apartment maintenance technician...

There are a lot of you that are apartment dwellers, and let’s face it: a lot of people living in apartments just aren’t terribly handy. I realized that I enjoy answering questions about my job (makes me feel all useful), and I haven’t noticed too many folks here sharing general handy-man knowledge.

I’ve got close to 3 years experience doing apartment/facilities maintenance, with a year of that being part of a trade school program. That doesn’t sound like much, but you learn fast in this industry, or find yourself out of a job.

Currently I’m working at a property with 400 apartments, with 3 other maintenance techs, which is nearly twice the industry standard (we keep busy), and we’re about 7 months into a renovation.

Washing machine not working? Garbage disposal making a funny buzzing sound? Dryer not turning off?

Ask nicely and maybe you’ll get a cute handy-woman to fix you up :smiley:

Can you get me a date? :smiley: I think I love you already…
Can the “honey-do” lists go to Thorny Platypus. Mrs Cabin_Fever is on my case this week.
Something about cleaning the fridge.
Don’t thank me, I’m just now finishing my beer.

Run, ducks and gets ass kicked by Thorny and Mrs Fever

Seriously 400 units? You must be very busy. Are you on call or anything? Like 4am maintenance calls?

I am very busy, yes. No, I’m not on call. To be on call with my company, you have to get to the apartment within 15 minutes, and I live too far away for that.

Two of my co-workers live on site and share the pager. Lucky devils.

Well I was going to ask if they comp units out to the staff. I guess it might be conveniently safer to be more that 15 minutes away sometimes. :slight_smile:

So… I gotta ask…
Have you had any “unpleasant” plumbing experiences, or do you farm that out.