Ask the Audiologist

‘Hear’ is a subject near and dear to my heart…ears!!

Yup, I am an audiologist with 17 years experience. I have my Bachelor’s degree in Human Communication Disorders, and my Master’s degree in Audiology. I am currently working on my Doctoral degree in Audiology. In my years of practice, I have worked in a hospital setting with newborns, children, and adults. I have also worked in a private practice setting with ENTs (Ear, Nose and Throat physicians) and currently work in the manufacturing sector for a major hearing aid company.

Naturally, I can handle questions about the purchase and use of hearing aids and hearing aid technology. I can also answer questions about hearing loss, hearing loss prevention, and what to expect when undergoing a hearing test (for infants, children, and adults). I can also address such issues as earwax buildup, methods of cleaning wax out of ears, ear infections in children, and similar problems.

In addition, I am familiar with such alternative technologies as cochlear implants, middle-ear implants, and bone-anchored hearing aids.

As I am not a medical doctor, I cannot (and will not attempt) to answer questions about surgical or drug treatments. Regarding cause of hearing loss, often there may be one or more causes and only a medical physician can specify the cause in most cases. I can give some insight based on my experience, but my comments are in no way intended to replace proper medical advice. If you have a medical condition of any type, you are advised to seek the counsel of a qualified physician; and if I feel your question warrants a physician’s advice, I will say so.

So…if you have any questions, I will do my best to answer them as quickly as possible.

I’m not sure I completely understand what an audiologist does. Will you explain your vocation in greater detail, please? Thank you!