Ask the straight-A student

In the “What kind of ‘Ask the…’ threads are you hoping for” thread, dwc1970 asked here:

If you want to get technical, I haven’t gotten As in every single course. But my IQ tested in the 98 percentile for verbal skills (92 for math skills), I graduated from high school with an A average in the Gifted program, and got an A+ in one of my courses recently in university.

So, um. Any questions?

Do either of your parents have one of those bumper stickers?

Do you ‘bust your ass’ to get the grades or is it easy for you?

Do you have siblings? Are they like you grade wise or do they hate your guts because your parents say to them “Why can’t you be more like your sister?”?

What’s your excuse for not getting A’s in everything?

Do you get tired of hearing “OMG how did you get an A on that?”, ceaseless pleas for notes because “LOL I was hungover” and explanations of assignments the night before they are due and the details of which were posted clearly in the syllabus ten weeks ago? 'Cause I do.

I got straight A’s in high school once. Didn’t stop me from flaming out at university, though.

So, my question. Did you have a relatively-easy time in high school? If so, did you find that you had trouble at university because you had a relatively-easy time in high school, and thus never developed, say, study habits that could deal with a long slog through difficult material?

Do you get pissed when people bitch you out for worrying about your grades, and telling you you’re insensitive to others who struggle just because you worry and have no business being disappointed in any grade higher than a B?

Because I do.

Are you proud when you throw the curve for an exam?

Not to hijack Kythereia’s thread, but, yeah!