Ask the (wedding) photographer

Ok. What the hell. I’ve never tried one of these before.

As some here may know, I’m a photographer. I started in college working for the school paper, working on to freelancing for AFP (Agence France-Press, a wire agency a la AP and Reuters), worked as a staff photog at a business paper in Budapest for a couple years, freelanced from there for three years or so for people like Business Week and Car and Driver, and now have settled down over the last few years into the business of wedding photojournalism.

I’m here to answer any questions related to photography, photojournalism, or the specific speciality of wedding photography/photojournalism. Anything from opinions on digital cameras, to technique, to the art of photography to selecting a wedding photographer, what to look for, etc.

So have at it. I’m working tomorrow and Sunday, so if I’m a little slow on Saturday and Sunday responses, that would be why.

Did you ever tell the bride to make sure she wore make-up on the wedding day??? :confused: Ours Did, and my now wife almost ripped his head off.
Not a good way to start with a new photographer.

Do you like to be a little artistic or do you do run of the mill whatever they want stuff mainly?

Ever had a mishap? Please explain:

How much do you make (can give a %%) on reprints?

My folks just ordered some reprints for my brother’s wedding and they were HELLA expensive. Maybe they’re matted with a silver wash or something, but for the prices this guy charges it’s like he has to build a time machine to go capture the moment again or something. I should call him and tell him Walgreens will do what he’s doing for 7 cents a print :slight_smile:

Sorry, ranting.