ask the night club guy

in the tradition of all the other “ask the…” threads, i’ll answer every legitimate question on the behind-the-scenes of the nightclub industry that i can.

please note that my experience in the industry is very toronto-centric; though i have bartended in smaller ontario cities, currently, i am a barback in an “upscale casual” club in middle of the entertainment district. still, there are many aspects of this industry that are universal.

over the past four years, i have backed some of the busiest bars in some of the busiest clubs in the city. as well as a few of the slowest bars in a couple of clubs. but i have seen almost all there is to see in the industry.

so ask away, and i’ll do my best to answer.

What is love?

baby, don’t hurt me.

What’s a barback?

I’ll bite.

During my stint as a cab driver, I worked around some of the bars and clubs in the wee hours. I wondered if it would get depressing closing a place down night after night. I mean, I saw some of the uglier side of human behavior then: friends abandoning friends, drunks desperate for someone to talk to, rude and boorish behavior that you were expected to accept because they were drunk, etc. Does it get depressing after a while? It did to me and I was outside looking in.

How do you deal with the noise? I don’t like most bars and some restaurants because of the noise level. When you work in one of these, are you worried about the long-term effect on your hearing?

What song do you hope you never hear again?

What fashion trend do you wish would die?

Do you feel good about your club’s safety in case of fire or other emergency?

How useful are club promoters, and how much do they get paid?

Do they really water down drinks? Fill top shelf liquor bottles with a cheap alternative?

Are there any clubs for the over-forty set? My liking for electronic music did not suddenly die when I ceased being 39…