Dear Deeply Misguided Bicycle Riding Bitch

That’s twice in as many days now, that you have decided to yell, swear and gesture at me for driving my car in my driveway because I came nowhere near hitting you while you zoomed around at high speed on your bicycle on the sidewalk.

Interesting word, sidewalk. Notice how it doesn’t contain the word ‘ride’ anywhere? If you’re interested in hearing that word again, some places where you might find the word sidewalk include in the dictionary between sideshow and sidewall, on signs advertising sidewalk sales, and in the Toronto Municipal Bylaws where it prohibits you from zooming around on sidewalks on your fucking bicycle.

I’m a cautious driver in a neighborhood full of children. I very carefully check for pedestrians and small children learning to ride on the nearby sidewalks before I pull into or back out of my driveway. But here’s the thing, you stupid twit, I’m not magic. I can’t see around corners. So when you’re cycling at a high rate of speed on the sidewalk and you come around a corner without stopping and almost bang into my car which was already crossing the sidewalk as I back out of my driveway, that’s not my fucking fault, no matter how much you yell at me and pretend it is.

Had you been on the road, where you belonged, I’d have had more time to see you coming. Had you been on the road where you belonged and actually stopped at the stop sign at that corner, not only would I have seen you coming, but I would have been long since backed out of my driveway before you got anywhere near me. Had you been a pedestrian walking on the sidewalk, I probably wouldn’t even know you exist, since you’d still be so far around that corner by the time I had backed out and driven away that I’d never have even noticed you.