Ask the wildland firefighter

After years of lurking it has occurred to me that I have something interesting to contribute. I graduated from college last year and worked one season on an engine in the Pacific Northwest. This season I will be working for a hotshot crew in the Southwest. Fire at will…

What sort of psychological assessment do you have to undergo before being hired? The papers here are forever full of theories that the pyromaniacs who start the fires are actually members of the fire fighting brigades (particularly the voluntary ones).

We had one of the California wildfires come within half a mile of our property this summer. I love you guys :slight_smile:

The Castle Rock Fire in Idaho could have taken out my town in August '07. Bunches of you guys saved our asses. :slight_smile:

Cunctator, our fire was started by lightning. At least I don’t have some asshole pyro to blame for it.

Most are started by lightning here too. But many are intentionally lit, according to the experts.

Yeah, people do seem to talk about that quite a bit, although I haven’t personally heard of it actually happening. Firefighters here are generally hired full-time during fire season, so there is less incentive to start fires for work. I’m not sure whether Australian fire works differently–I’ve heard it’s a mostly volunteer force?

There was the Rattlesnake Fire of 1953 which killed 15 firefighters in California. A firefighter was convicted of starting that fire for work.

But to answer your question, there’s no psychological assessment, per se, as part of the hiring process. I’ve gotten both of my jobs after some email & phone contact and a 15-20 minute phone interview. I believe they’re pretty diligent about checking references also. A good attitude is the most important hiring criterion, but I’m sure a secret pyromaniac could get in pretty easily.

But they say we’re all pyros anyway…