Ask the interviewer

A little background. I’m a manager in one of the Big-4 accounting/consulting firms in one of their consulting practices. We’ve been interviewing college students for Intern or Analyst level (entry level) positions. At the previous firm I worked for, I interviewed candidates at all levels from campus hires for Intern positions to experienced Manager level.

So. For anyone who is currently looking for a job, ever wonder what the guy on the other side of the table is thinking during the interview?

What do you think are your greatest weaknesses?

Where do you see yourself in five years?

If the candidate takes ages to answer a question do you ever accidentally zone out while they are droning on and on and on?

Do you have any questions for me?

Have you had anyone show up wildly inappropriately dressed?
I would think the interviewees are well prepped by their colleges, hence the question if there have been any unexpected outliers.

Do you follow a pre-set script of questions, or just freestyle it knowing you want to get certain information?

How do you recover from a question that completely throws you?

I have interviewed dozens of people in similar roles as well. I hate being interviewed in a rigid and structured way so I don’t do it to other people. It is all conversational but still focused. The interview just changes with each person to see where it goes and I let them know that up front that is what we are going to do. I have given written tests but without any actual answer key. I just judge everything as a whole on a pass/fail basis. There is about an 80% failure rate for the way that I do interviewing but I don’t think I have ever made anyone overly nervous and some people have passed that I wouldn’t have thought when they walked in the door based on their resume.