Home Scale Accuracy

I’ve been using this scale for about five years, assuming it’s been accurate. My new (guy) room mate gets on the scale and has a fit. “There’s no way I only weigh 140!” He swears the scale is off by ten pounds, which upsets me greatly and means that I just gained ten pounds! So, I weigh a four lb bag of sugar and the scale registers…4 lbs! Whew. So I’m right; however, the room mate still contends that the scale is capable of such small weights, but becomes inaccurate at people sized weights. I say this is bullshit. What say you? Thank you.

Your roommate is right.

My home scale reads ten pounds low. I know this because for a while I was weighing in on a hospital scale which I’m sure was pretty accurate.

Sorry.

While I obviously know nothing about your particular scale, there is no reason to trust a 4-lb calibration all the way up at 140 lb. Also, when you say it read “4 lb”, what did it actually read? 10 lb of error at 140 lb is only 7%, so 4 lb might only turn into 3.7 lb, which rounds to 4 lb if only one digit is shown.

(That is, the error need not be a fixed shift. It can be proportional to the weight.)

But I know, for a fact, that if I weighed 120, there’s no way I could fit into the pants I’m currently wearing. Honestly! This is a fact. Why would the scale be accurate on a four lb bag of sugar and not for my weight?

If you’re in doubt, go to a hospital or gym and weigh yourself there.

Or just go with 110 and be happy about it. I won’t tell if you won’t!

It is probably bullshit. But the only real way to tell is to measure your self with other scales. Do you have access to a gym. They usually have balance scales that are pretty accurate.

But…you didn’t gain 10 pounds, even if your roommate is right. You weigh the same as you always have (or whatever), but that number is higher than you thought.

Anyhow, this is all speculation on our part. I have no idea how accurate your scale is.