The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > Cafe Society

Old 11-18-2010, 06:21 PM
BANNED

Did Ginger Rogers really do everything Fred Astaire did but backwards and in high heels?

"Ginger Rogers did everything Fred Astaire did, but she did it backwards and in high heels."

I am not a dance expert, but the saying does not appear to be true to me. Maybe some dance experts can chime in.

Looking at famous saying in parts:

Quote:
did everything Fred Astaire did
I do not think this part in true. Fred Astaire did many dance moves that Ginger Rogers never did. He was a better dancer. (She was a better actor.)

Quote:
backwards
Why is left forward and right backwards? As to moving towards each other, they seems towards each other at a pretty even rate.

Quote:
in high heels
A Google image search does not show Ginger Rogers wearing high heels. Even when she wears heels, they do appear to be high heels:

http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...w=1116&bih=480

Any truth to this saying?
Advertisements  
Old 11-18-2010, 06:22 PM
BANNED

Is there a way to move this to Cafe Society?
Old 11-18-2010, 06:29 PM

Yeah a mod can move it. I reported the post so they'll see it faster.
Old 11-18-2010, 06:30 PM
I Am the One Who Bans

Done.
Old 11-18-2010, 07:08 PM

It was just a pro-feminist saying, not to be taken literally.

She didn't choreograph either (and in her movies w/Fred, they usually gave her all the worst songs, too)
Old 11-18-2010, 07:40 PM

Fred also danced with Cyd Charisse and Eleanor Powell, both of whom were as good at dancing as Fred, which Ginger was not.
Old 11-18-2010, 07:44 PM
Charter Member

It hyperbole. One telling point was that Astaire danced with many other partners in films, including those who made a name for themselves as dancers before dancing with him (e.g., Powell, Charisse, Vera Ellen, etc.). And Fred was leading Ginger and guiding her way.