How do you make a new friend as an adult?

My friends and I have a theory: it’s nearly impossible for Americans to make new friends (non-lovers) after high school. What I found out recently is that for most cultures outside of the US, making friends requires a completely different set of rules than in the US. For example, if you want to make someone a friend you would ask them about their health, family, etc. In America, that would be considered “small talk,” and would have nothing to do with the desire to see that person ever again.

What is your process for trying to make a “good friend”?

I graduated from high school in 1975 and the only friends I still have from HS are Facebook friends I never see in real life. Every single friendship I have now I’ve made since high school, and I plan on making many more friends in the future.

When making new friends, I find something we have in common–usually more than one thing–and we talk about it, sometimes go to events about it, sit and have a drink afterward and talk about it. I don’t have tons of friends, but I have several, almost all single/divorced women like me, so right there we have something in common.

On a rating scale of 1-100, 100 being your best friend in a the world, 1 being somebody you met 3 times and chatted with, how would you rate these new friends?

I guess my OP wasn’t really clear, I was talking about making friends on the 100 side of this scale.

The following advice is from a book I read some time ago, but the advice stuck with me because it made such sense. I am pretty good socially, but I had never thought about what I did that made me so good at it. Here goes.