I'm taking a Glock to NYC. What can I expect?

In late October my wife and I are going to spend a few days in Manhattan.
I’ve traveled all over the country and had no problems bringing my pistol. But most places do not have a hard-on towards handguns like New York City does. The last time I was in NYC was before HR218 was law so I didn’t have a sidearm with me.

So, what can I expect? Will the airline tell the local authorities that a passenger has a declared firearm in his checked luggage? When I fly on personal time I usually don’t register with the airline as an emergency services worker. So it’s not like anyone will know I’m a cop.

Will there be some officers at the terminal waiting to have a chat with me?

Or, like in the rest of the country, will nothing happen?

Unless you are carrying it for a business need, why take it at all?

Curious foreigner here - so how does that work? Do carry permits from one state/city usually work anywhere in the country (good old 2nd amendment) or do you need a separate permit from each jurisdiction?

Can you actually pack ammunition (explosive material) in your luggage?

(In Canada that sort of thing is a federal regulation, so AFAIK one set of paperwork is good for the whole country.)

If you read the Wikipedia link in the OP, you’ll see that there’s a separate piece of federal legislation for law enforcement officers that covers all jurisdictions in the U.S.

First of all, please read the link I posted in the OP. Police officers are allowed to carry their weapon in all 50 states with no need for a permit from wherever they are.
My situation is different than that of the average person.

Secondly, every state has it’s own laws. Many recognize the carry permits of other states, a few do not.

Lastly, yes one may put ammunition in their checked luggage. Up to 11 pounds.
It must be separate from any firearms you have. Firearms in checked luggage must be declared when you check in at the airport.