What to include on a resume

So, I’ve been in my current job for 6 years, and it’s time for me to do some job hunting. I haven’t even looked at my Resume for all of that time, so it obviously needs a good rewrite. And I would like some independent ideas/thoughts on one aspect of it .

That is around the education details. I have ~20 years experience in the Banking & Finance industry, and got my start as a teller in a branch after dropping out of university at the time (A few different reasons that aren’t really relevant). I have never in the intervening years gone back to further study. It hasn’t really affected my career to date (that I’m aware off anyway).

So when it comes to my resume I can’t list a degree or similar under an ‘Education’ heading. Which option do you think would be most appropriate or morel likely to avoid having my resume binned out of hand?

• Leave out an ‘Education’ heading completely, (will probably lead to some questions if I get to interview, but I flatter myself that I interview fairly well and can talk around it)
  • Leave the heading in and list some of the formal training courses I have completed in the last few years,
  • Call out my lack of a degree (my least likely option IMO but here for completeness)

What say you?

If the formal training is relevant to the particular job you are seeking I’d include it. Otherwise I’d go for option A.

I wouldn’t exclude education as the glaring whole would be a red flag for me. I’d list your training courses. Also, I presume you have school qualifications? I’m not from the US but in my country, you would have needed decent school qualifications to get into university in the first place and those would count under the education heading.

It would seem very strange to me for some over, say, 23 to put anything about high school on a resume.