What is this strange garment (in booking photo)?

The associated story is mildly amusing/disturbing, but I am curious about the strange green coat/wrap/vest being worn in the booking photo.

Is it a restraint garment? Bulletproof vest? Some kind of emergency coat or cover?

Sure looks like a bullet-proof vest to me.

I think it’s a smock for prisoners on suicide watch.

I didn’t even know those existed - I assumed they used paper gowns or something - much nicer (if not very fashionable or comfortable).

I would have guessed Bullet Proof Vest too - until I saw that link. I have no experience with either, and can’t tell the difference for sure from the photo - but it wouldn’t surprise me that someone might be given a bullet prof vest when arrested (although this seems a little on the overkill side for this crime).

Plus it’s cold there - so I’m guessing they would have just strapped a vest on on top of regular clothing - which this person doesn’t seem to have.

Here we go again! It’s a lead vest for dental x-rays?

Safety smock works for me. I didn’t know they existed, either.

Such a strange, sad story. But then, schools tend to scrape the bottom of the barrel for substitutes these days and I’m not surprised that someone like this made it through the screening and was actually called in to work.

I see he was charged with “risk of injury to a minor.” What kind of massive weapon was he wielding?

It says they are trying to identify students who may have seen him in action, in order to assess their need for counseling.

WTF? They’re going to suffer lifelong PTSD cause they glimpsed an old dude wanking off?

Is there any body of evidence or research about what really happens to kids who see an adult masturbating? These are High School kids, not kiddiegarters.

I bet they have a script to follow whenever a staff member is accused of inappropriate sexual conduct. It’s about covering their asses, not helping the students.