Help me break 2:00 in a half marathon.

Argh. I’ve been running on and off for the past eight years. My fitness has gone up and down as well, with my weight fluctuating by about 50 pounds over that time. I just ran my fifth half marathon today,(yay!), but was a bit disappointed to learn my time was 2:11. My best time was when I was 23, when I ran a 2:06 half-marathon. My worst time was about 2:30. I am 32 right now.

I felt very ready for this run. I have been eating better than ever (lots of green smoothies), and I trained better than I ever have for a run. In my training I did two 17km runs. I’ve been doing Yoga for two months as well. My weight is about 169 (I was at least 10 pounds heavier during my best run).

So I was disappointed today. I thought I had beaten my best time and I was 5 minutes away from it. I really feel I have to work a lot harder to be fit and athletic than most people (I’ve always struggled with weight and my energy levels). Anyone have any advice for me? I’m likely going to run another race in 12 weeks…I have time to train and beat my old time. Help me train better! What can I do?

What’s your weekly (?) long run?
Do you do any tempo runs?
What pace are you running for your longer runs?
More in a few minutes.

Tempo run= A pace that’s right at your lactate threshold. This is a pace that you can race at for one hour.

Steady state=Ideally, 10-20 sec./mile slower than tempo. Most of your longer runs should be at this pace. Your weekly long run will be slower still.

This calculator uses recent races to calculate training paces.

Your paces
Tempo=9:16-9:35
Steady-state=9:39-10:04
Long run=10:22-11:36

You don’t need to do interval training in general as you won’t be going anaerobic during the race.

However, some long intervals ( 3-4x1200m-2000m) at slightly faster than tempo pace can improve efficiency.